The UNSW Medicine Infectious Disease, Immunity and Infection Theme and SPHERE Triple I Clinical Academic Group (CAG) are merged to streamline governance and administration so that we can focus on supporting research.

Professor Anthony Kelleher is Principal of the Infectious Disease, Immunity and Inflammation Theme and Lead of the Triple I CAG. He is an immunopathologist at St Vincent’s Hospital and Executive Director of The Kirby Institute, UNSW.

Professor Kelleher chairs the Executive Committee that also includes Associate Professor Gail Matthews (St Vincent’s Hospital, The Kirby Institute) and Professor William Rawlinson (NSW Health Pathology, SESLHD) to ensure alignment with our healthcare partner priorities. Professor Chris Goodnow (The Garvan Institute for Medical Research) and Professor Phil Hansbro (Centenary Institute and UTS) complete the leadership group that aims to foster innovation, focusing on work with a major impact on human health.

Our Strategic Advisory Group includes leadership from clinicians, academics and others from across the SPHERE network who are experienced in knowledge translation and implementation of evidence into clinical practice ensures projects are designed and conducted to realise uptake and impact. Each SPHERE partner is shadowed by an early or mid-career researcher, to broaden their experience in research strategy and implementation. Committee members participate widely in state, national and international activities and agencies.