Executive Team

The Executive Team provides leadership and management for UNSW Medicine. 



Professor Rodney Phillips

Senior Vice Dean, Academic

Associate Dean (Education)
Professor Gary Velan

Deputy Dean (Research)

Associate Dean (Strategy)
Dr Mark Ainsworth
Senior Vice Dean, Clinical Affairs
Professor William Ledger
Faculty Executive Director
Mr Jonathan Pheasant

Coursework Leads

Associate Dean (Postgraduate Coursework)
Professor Robyn Richmond
Program Authority UNSW Medicine
Professor Anthony O’Sullivan

Heads of Schools


School of Medical Sciences
Professor Peter Gunning

School of Psychiatry
Scientia Professor Philip Mitchell

School of Public Health and Community Medicine
Professor Raina MacIntryre

School of Women's and Children's Health
Professor Adam Jaffe

Prince of Wales Clinical School
Professor Phil Crowe (Acting Head)

Rural Clinical School
Head of School and Associate Dean (Rural Health)
Dr Lesley Forster

St George and Sutherland Clinical School
Professor Michael Grimm

St Vincent's Clinical School
Professor Jerry Greenfield

South Western Sydney Clinical School
Professor Jeremy Wilson


Heads of UNSW Centres and Institutes

Centre for Big Data Research in Health
Professor Louisa Jorm

The Kirby Institute
Scientia Professor David Cooper AO

Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity
Scientia Professor Mark Harris

Centre for Childhood Cancer Research
Professor Murray Norris AM

National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre
Professor Michael Farrell