Executive Team

The Executive Team provides leadership and management for UNSW Medicine. 



Professor Rodney Phillips

Senior Vice Dean, Research
Professor Anthony Kelleher

Senior Vice Dean, Academic Operations
Professor Sean Emery
Senior Vice Dean, Education
Professor Gary Velan
Senior Vice Dean, Clinical Affairs
Associate Dean, Research
Associate Dean, Strategy
Dr Mark Ainsworth
Faculty Executive Director
Mr Jonathan Pheasant
Executive Director, Strategic Health Initiatives
Brooke Griffin

Coursework Leads                        

Associate Dean (Postgraduate Coursework)
Professor Robyn Richmond
Program Authority UNSW Medicine
Professor Anthony O’Sullivan

Heads of Schools


School of Medical Sciences
Professor Peter Gunning

School of Psychiatry
Professor Henry Brodaty (Acting Head)

School of Public Health and Community Medicine

Professor Rebecca Ivers

School of Women's and Children's Health

Professor Adam Jaffe

Prince of Wales Clinical School

Professor Phil Crowe (Acting Head)

Rural Clinical School
Head of School and Associate Dean (Rural Health)
Dr Lesley Forster

St George and Sutherland Clinical School
Professor Michael Grimm

St Vincent's Clinical School
Professor Jerry Greenfield

South Western Sydney Clinical School
Professor Jeremy Wilson


Heads of UNSW Centres and Institutes

Centre for Big Data Research in Health
Professor Louisa Jorm

The Kirby Institute

Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity
Scientia Professor Mark Harris

National Drug and Alchohol Research Centre
Professor Michael Farrell

Independent Medical Research Institutes Affiliated with UNSW

Centre for Childhood Cancer Research
Professor Michelle Haber
Black Dog Institute
Professor Helen Christensen
Garvan Institute of Medical Research
Professor Chris Goodnow
Ingham Institute for Applied Medical Research
Professor Les Bokey
Neurosciences Research Australia
Professor Peter Schofield
The George Institute for Global Health
Professor Vlado Perkovic
Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute
Professor Robert Graham