Management & Governance

Senior Leadership Team

The Faculty Executive Team, led by the Dean, provides leadership and management for UNSW Medicine & Health.



Professor Vlado Perkovic  

Senior Vice Dean, Research & Operations  
Professor Sean Emery

Senior Vice Dean, Education 
Professor Gary Velan 

Faculty Executive Director 
Susan Channells

Associate Dean, Postgraduate Research Training 
Associate Professor David Simar

Associate Dean, Partnerships & Engagement
Professor Phoebe Phillips

Heads of School                     


School of Clinical Medicine
Professor Adrienne Torda

School of Health Sciences
Associate Professor Belinda Parmenter

School of Medical Sciences
Professor Jake Baum

School of Optometry & Vision Science
Professor Lisa Keay

School of Population Health
Professor Rebecca Ivers


Heads of UNSW Centres & Institutes 


Centre for Big Data Research in Health 
Professor Louisa Jorm 

The Kirby Institute 
Professor Anthony Kelleher

Centre for Primary Health Care & Equity 
Scientia Professor Mark Harris 

National Drug & Alchohol Research Centre 
Professor Michael Farrell 

Independent Medical Research Institutes 
Affiliated with UNSW


Centre for Childhood Cancer Research 
Professor Michelle Haber

Black Dog Institute 
Professor Samuel Harvey

Garvan Institute of Medical Research 
Professor Chris Goodnow

Ingham Institute for Applied Medical Research 
Professor Les Bokey

Neurosciences Research Australia 
Professor Peter Schofield

The George Institute for Global Health 
Professor Bruce Neal 

Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute 
Professor Jason Kovacic

Mindgardens Alliance 
Associate Professor Jackie Curtis