MEDIC provides strategic direction and leadership aligned with UNSW’s 2025 Strategy. MEDIC focuses on supporting key priorities including gender equity, cultural diversity, LGBTIQ+ inclusion, flexible working, supporting staff and students with disability, Indigenous staff and students and low socioeconomic students. 

The terms of reference for MEDIC include overseeing the implementation of UNSW Medicine’s EDI Strategy across the Faculty's Schools, Centres and Institutes; Ensuring that the Faculty's EDI Plan and the governance of MEDIC supports UNSW's 2025 Strategy and aligns with the objectives of the UNSW EDI Board; Identifying actions and initiatives to help achieve the Faculty's EDI targets; Evaluating progress; Providing a forum for discussion of EDI issues within the Faculty and contributing to the communication and reinforcement of shared values around EDI to support a culture of inclusiveness within the Faculty. 

Membership, Meetings and Attendance

MEDIC is made up of senior staff (academic and professional) and students from across the faculty. It reports to the Faculty Board and our Chair is Associate Professor Caroline Ford. Its purpose is to manage and monitor the EDI Strategy across the faculty. Members are appointed for a two-year initial term and members must have an appointment or be enrolled at UNSW for the term of their appointment. 

MEDIC meets 6 times a year. Committee members are strongly encouraged to attend these meetings. The current committee has the following members:

Name School / Institute Role
Caroline Ford SWCH Chair
Amanda Henry SWCH Gender Co-Champion
Julie Thomas SoMS Gender Co-Champion
Anita Heywood SPHCM Prev Gender Champion
Caroline Meyer Dean's Office HR Business Partner
Craig Smith SWSCS LGBTIQ+ Co-Champion
Dean Lovett Dean's Office LGBTIQ+ Co-Champion
Nicodemus Tedla SoMS Cultural Diversity Co-Champion
Bettina Meiser PoWCS Cultural Diversity Co-Champion
Silas Taylor Centralised Med Education Low SES Champion
Rachel Ward SOMS/Ex Physiology Prev Low SESS Champion
Brett Biles Director of Indigenous Health Indigenous Champion
Matthew Taylor Dean's Office Education Support Officer (Indigenous)
Valsa Eapen Psychiatry Disability Co-Champion
Husna Razee SPHCM Disability Co-Champion
Jeff Holst SoMS/PoWCS Flexible Work & Leave
Lisa Maher Kirby Prev Cultural Diversity Champion
Catherine Marley Dean's Office Faculty Wellbeing
Marianne Colbert Dean's Office EDI Manager
Jonathan Pheasant Dean's Office FED
Michael Orjekh VP Internal - ExPhys Student Soc UG student Rep – Med Prog
Timo O'New Dawn President - ExPhys Student Soc UG student Rep – ExPhys
Rabiah Al Adawiyah HDR/PG Student PG Student Rep
Holly Seale SPHCM WiRN Rep
Deborah Cromer Kirby WiRN Rep
Vlado Perkovic Dean of UNSW Medicine Dean

Working Groups

Our MEDIC Working Groups are a key way of engaging our people with our EDI strategy. The networks are led by the MEDIC Champions with oversight from the Faculty EDI Manager. The Working Groups are open to academic and professional staff and students. They are an important way for people across the faculty to feel engaged, included and to drive significant cultural change around equity diversity and inclusion within UNSW Medicine.

The Gender Equity Working Group focuses on supporting MEDIC’s gender equity targets through a range of initiatives aimed at encouraging the recruitment and retention of women and providing greater opportunities and support for women to assume leadership roles. 

Our Cultural Diversity Working Group connects and engages staff and students from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. The focus is on UNSW Medicine’s commitment to developing our cultural intelligence, improving our understanding of culturally and linguistically diverse people as well as ensuring representation of these groups within the faculty’s demographic.

Our LGBTIQ+ Working Group engages and connects LGBTIQ+ and Ally staff and students across UNSW Medicine. The Working Group aims to ensure the faculty is a safe and welcoming place for all LGBTIQ+ staff and students.